Lent 33: Barbie’s balance

18 03 2013

Yesterday, Kajsa had her Barbies packing into this Barbie jeep. Two of them are in the seats, seat belts on. She asked me how to get a third one in the jeep, since there were only two seats. I put it in the back, and told her

In real life, we don’t do this… you have to have a seat belt on, and if there’s not a belt in the back, there’s no place to sit in the back.

She kept playing, while I did something else in the other room. Lent 33: Barbie's balance

Then she called me in to look. “Look at Mommy Cathy” she said.. (“Mommy Cathy” would be the Barbie on the jeep’s hood). “In real life, she can’t do this, because there’s no seat belt.”

I laughed, and said, “I hope she doesn’t fall off!

Oh she won’t“, Kajsa said, “Mommy Cathy has a great sense of balance!

A few seconds later, thanks to to some rugged driving, perhaps, the Barbie fell off.

This week’s Lenten “Signs Along the Way” theme is “Dangerous Intersection”. The gospel text for yesterday was John 12:1-8: where Mary anointed Jesus’ feet with oil… her extravagant gift, compared with Judas’ response. Judas was “concerned” about the poor, though, the text says, he wasn’t really. When faith and life intersect, we are frequently faced with tough choices, challenges, and frustrations. We seek balance, but often are misguided, or over-guess/under-guess… balance is hard to come by.

Sometimes I think I am balanced–much like the “Mommy Cathy Barbie”. Or, much like her owner, rather… I perceive balance when, in reality, I’m not at all balanced, and I fall off the hood of the jeep.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 468 other followers

