I want Pentecost still to be red…

29 05 2007

Lost and Found has a song about the church, called “Opener”. It talks about churches that have become more like YMCA’s, that preach the news, sing what they want to sing, carry on no history, and how we need to stop the fighting, whether it’s about guitars and amps, or incense and robes… just tell about Jesus. It’s a good song, and one of my favorite lines is “I want palms on Palm Sunday, I want Pentecost still to be red…”

That line ran through my head all last week and weekend as I was working on my Pentecost sermon, and the service. I love Pentecost. It’s my favorite day in the church year (and I said this in my sermon) because I am in need of help, and it’s the day we celebrate God sending help: the Holy Spirit. I love it. And at Arbor, it was red. It always is, because Sue does a fantastic job of changing the banners and paraments (those different colored/symboled cloths hanging on altars, pulpits, lecterns, etc…). I hadn’t been at church since Sue changed the paraments, so walking in at 7:30 am Sunday morning was a treat, to see the red all over. I love it. Jim and I also brought in red balloons, which Jim used during his Children’s Corner.

When I read the Acts 2 passage, about the Holy Spirit coming into the place where Jesus’ disciples and others were gathered, I had arranged for people to stand and read part of the text in different languages–at the same time–while I read in English. It was amazing. I wish I could have just listened, but those who did thought it was great. Awkward, at first. But fantastic. We had people reading Chinese, French, Spanish and Swedish.

I love Pentecost. And I need it. I need the Holy Spirit’s help this week.. it’s a busy week, and I’m emotionally and physically exhausted. So in order to make it through, I need the Spirit of Pentecost to guide me through. I need reminding that the church throughout the ages has been inspired, guided, corrected, and encouraged by the Holy Spirit. So hopefully this week I will be too.

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 05 2007
heidi

I love the header on your blog. And this post makes me wish I was visiting your church. 🙂

29 05 2007
Cathy Stanley-Erickson

Thanks, Heidi! The header is from a Guatemala picture of blankets..so colorful, I love them! And our church is great!

31 05 2007
Steve Pedersen

Spirit Fire, Holy Wind descend on Cathy.
Breath of Heaven, lover of dogs,
Give them better breath! Selah

31 05 2007
madcitycat

Now, Steve… are you asking the Breath of Heaven, to give me and Jim better breath, or the dogs?

1 06 2007
Steve Pedersen

The dogs and Jim, of course!

Leave a Reply

