Good things

5 11 2007

(I wrote this the other day when I was on my way to California for meetings.)

I’m sitting at the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, in the service center, with my laptop plugged in. I won’t be able to post until I have internet access, whenever that is. But I’m not about to pay the hefty fee for a one day internet access pass. Maybe if I had thought of it earlier, but not now, when I only have three more hours until my flight. I’m exhausted, worn out, tired of problems, tired of worrying about problems.. yet unable to let those worries go. Wish I could. Maybe I could if I prayed more, worried less.

In the meantime, here is a list of good things about today:

• Today on my way to pick up Jim at the Madison airport, I brought the dogs in the car. Entropy had his head sticking out the back window at a stoplight. Two guys in a Town & Country-type car were looking at him. These were big guys. Not that that matters, but I find it amusing, for some reason. I smiled at them. They smiled back, but you could tell they were stunned by Entropy’s size. They rolled down their window, I rolled down the passenger side of my car, (they were two lanes over), and they asked me, “What’s his name?” “Entropy,” I responded. By now Abby had joined Entropy, sticking her head out the window. “Entropy”, the driver said to the passenger. “Entropy”. Then I said, “He’s a cutie, isn’t he?” “Yeah”… they said, “A cutie.” Then I said, “He’s a big teddy bear.” “Well, he’s BIG!” the driver said, as our light turned green and we drove our separate ways.

• Picking up Jim at the airport. We actually were together for four hours today, before he dropped me off at the Milwaukee Airport. This is strange. For a couple who works together, lives together, does many things together, it is quite strange to be apart for over one week, with the exception of four hours. Not a bad thing… it’s good to have some time. But I miss Jim.

• A Starbucks Eggnogg Latte sample in the airport. I didn’t think I would like it. I like coffee, I like lattes, I like eggnog.. but together? I liked it. It was very good.

• Lots of walking in the airport. I am not feeling well today—lots of fibro pain, as well as coming off of a stressful couple of weeks. But I made myself walk and walk and walk through several concourses, just to get exercise, since I have a nearly-four-hour flight later.

• A good book. I’m “reading” (listening to it on CD) the book blink by Malcolm Gladwell. Fascinating.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

