Stumps and Hope

4 12 2007

“A shoot shall come out of the stump of Jesse…and a branch shall grow out of his roots.” This is the first verse of Isaiah 11. The first verse in the Old Testament lesson for this coming Sunday. The verse that promises hope, where there seems to be none. I can visualize this verse because I have seen life growing out of stumps in the ground: literally. I think I have also seen it figuratively, though not so much recently.

I want to see it. I want to hope. I want to let go of my cynicism and doubts, and cling to hope. It’s hard, but that doesn’t mean impossible.

So today I try to hope. I hope that we will have a child. I hope for reconciliation in strained relationships. I hope that my single friends find spouses. These are selfish hopes, I realize. Of course I also hope for peace in the world, an end to poverty, racism, sexism, abuse, corruption, etc. But today, I am hoping for the things close to home that are on my mind and heart.

And, I hope that today, and this season, I continue to seek the One who brings hope: Jesus Christ, the shoot that came out of the stump of Jesse.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

