IKEALuciaKazoo

20 12 2007

100_9399_ikea.jpgNo, it’s not one of those cell phone commercials. The ones who combine the city names in one word. And no, it’s not a typo. Though when I titled my Advent Photo #18 last night, I separated the three words with a space. But today I re-thought that. Because it was such a surreal funny experience, it just felt all mushed together.

Jim and I were at IKEA yesterday. Jo Ann drove out and met us for lunch, on a study break. Jim went to visit a friend at a nursing facility in Carol Stream. When he returned, and after Jo Ann left, Jim and I did a quick walk-through of IKEA. As we were heading down the escalator from Level 2 to Level 1, these two elderly ladies–obviously sisters–somehow caught Jim’s attention, then showed him their shopping carts, each of which held about 5-7 circular candelabras. Jim said they looked like Lucia crowns, and that now these two ladies could have their own Lucia celebration. I actually thought Jim knew these ladies, the way they were talking to him. It was funny. Then I realized they didn’t.

“Lucia!” they said.. oh, they added. We know Lucia.. We’re half Swedish, half Italian.. both sides have Lucia. Jim suggested they sing the Lucia song… and so he began to sing. But as he started, one of the ladies said, “wait! wait!” and began rummaging in her purse. We looked at each other wondering what was going on. And the other sister said to the one rummaging, “Do you have it? Oh dear! Don’t encourage her!”

Then the first one pulled a kazoo out of her purse. And began playing the tune of “Santa Lucia”. So Jim began singing. They were side-hugging, while singing/playing… passersby staring at them, some laughing, some smiling, some just looking puzzled. And, of course, Jim was singing in Swedish.

Quite funny. And fun…


Actions

Information

4 responses

20 12 2007
Sandie

ohmygoodness! If only I could have seen this. Dave and I laughed ourselves to tears over this.

21 12 2007
Jen D

Oh my goodness…. I would have LOVED to see that!!!

26 12 2007
CB

oh i remember our santa lucia play that we did at pcc and i even learned the song in swedish…thanks to carin. jim is a pip…a real pip. i miss him. miss you too pc – hope you had wonderful christmas. love ya, cb

15 01 2008
Leanne

My side hurts!!! That is sooooo funny! 🙂 I think I should carry a kazoo too – good idea! Who would have thought of it??? I love it!

Leave a comment