I went to the zoo today

1 03 2008

I went to visit the animals, to hang out, to take photos. Which I did. Incredible. A very kind zoo-keeper answered my questions for about 10 minutes, while we watched the polar bears. 100_9518.jpg Then I stood there for another 10 or so minutes, just observing… they’re so gorgeous. I knew that polar bears have hollow hair-but I never realized that the ones with yellower tints swim more often! In this case, that would be Nanuq, the male. He’s also quite the bully. Poor Mishka. I only took a few dozen photos of the polar bears. (ok, maybe a few more than that, even.)

I walked around to see a few other animals, before going to the lion exhibit. As I approached the exhibit, the female lion jumped off the rock that she and the male were resting on. (A heated rock, I learned!) She walked over to me, and to the part of the huge glass wall I was standing behind. She paced for awhile, I put my hand against the glass, and she then began to “paw” the glass. At first it was a teeny bit freaky, but then she looked as though she wanted to be pet, or to have someone scratch behind her ears. Other people came by. One guy was concerned about this-understandable. But I was loving it. She was so beautiful. 100b9650.jpgThe glass was so dirty and foggy and difficult to see through clearly, but I was mesmerized by the lion’s actions. When I put my head against the wall and looked into her eyes, she did a similar thing: putting her head against the wall. It was incredible. I took tons of photos there, too… as well as this video. Check it out. (It’s not the best quality, but you get the idea.) And in case the link does not work for you, the video is called “lioness at the zoo”, and is on You Tube.

I need to visit the animals more often. They are so fun and therapeutic. If I had extra time, I think I’d volunteer there. Maybe someday.

Actions

Information

One response

1 03 2008
Leanne

The lion story is chilling! Wow!

Leave a Reply

