not that far away

20 02 2010

Jo Ann is visiting from Chicago, and today was our day to go into the city–that would be Philadelphia. So this morning Jim, Kajsa, Jo Ann and I took the train from North Wales to Market Street East, right by Chinatown. We ended up at Nanzhou Hand Drawn Noodle House, a  highly-recommended place to eat lunch. I highly recommend it. More on that later… hopefully.

After lunch, Jim and Kajsa headed back home on a train, and Jo Ann and I explored some more. Chinatown and some Independence area sites. We were looking for a good place to sit down and have some coffee… but kept walking, looking for places to photograph, and to rest. But we couldn’t find anyplace within our price range. Standing outside Christ Church to take photos, Jo Ann noticed a passerby carrying a to-go coffee cup. She asked her where she got it… and the lady pointed down the street–more like a glorified alley, really–to a coffee shop.

After we took some more photos at Christ Church, we walked down the street, and found Old City Coffee Cafe. It was not that far away. And, had Jo Ann not asked the lady about her coffee cup, we probably would have headed a slightly different direction, ending up at Starbucks. Not that I’m opposed to Starbucks–I’m not. But Old City Coffee was a more “local”, intriguing, fun choice for today.

God often seems far away, I think. What I want spiritually often can seem far away. And yet, it might not be as far away as it seems. Who knows? Maybe it is. But I’d guess–and experience tells me–that God, at least, is closer than I think. And often what I truly want spiritually could be closer than I think. But left to my own habits and choices I might end up going a different direction, missing out on some spiritual opportunities close by. And, like Starbucks, it’s not that my choices or directions are always bad. Rather, they simply aren’t the full experience I could have.

Hopefully I will pay attention to more signs, clues, passersby around me… pointing me to a closer and more fulfilling experience.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

