New House, Old Junk.

11 03 2010

New house. That’s what Kajsa calls our home. The thing that makes me laugh, and cringe, is that though it’s our new house, we still have most of the same old stuff. Stuff we both want to get rid of… stuff we’ve talked about getting rid of.. stuff we don’t have time to sort through.

Thurs., March 11th

Same old junk. Same old theme from me. But making the time…to do the work…to clean out our junk… takes work.

I used to love the Bible verse 1 Corinthians 5:17: “So if anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation: everything old has passed away; see, everything has become new!” I think I partly liked this so much because I had this image of all the junk in my life being gone, and the new me replacing it. Just to be clear: I don’t think that everything “old” is negative… nor is everything “new” positive. But in terms of the changes we need to make, it’s not that easy.

I have met the occasional person who became a completely different person when they met Christ. And that was good, in their situations. But for many of us, changing what needs to be changed is hard. Finding the balance of the “new” and the “old” is challenging. And old habits die hard. So, while we might describe our lifestyles, our homes, our jobs, our seasons of life, and even our faith journeys as “new”… some of us, at least, have more work to do.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

