“Catch-Up”: Thursday… filled with laughter

20 03 2010


filled with laughter

Originally uploaded by cathyse97.

Psalm 126:1-3: “When the LORD restored the fortunes of Zion, we were like those who dream. Then our mouth was filled with laughter, and our tongue with shouts of joy; then it was said among the nations, “The LORD has done great things for them.” The LORD has done great things for us, and we rejoiced.”

“our mouth was filled with laughter”. Kajsa is often filled with laughter. And her laughter often fills me with laughter.. even if I don’t feel like laughing. Often, I say. Because there are times when she’s simply stalling from doing what we’ve asked her to do. But mostly, Kajsa’s laughter is contagious. And it reminds me of what restoration feels like–restoration thanks to God’s work, God reversing fortunes.. God doing great things for us. Where does that leave those who don’t know this feeling? or feel this, when things are going better? Sometimes laughter is possible, but mostly it’s discouraging, when others get to laugh from the pure joy they experience.. and when some aren’t able to share that.

What’s the answer? I don’t know. I’ve been in both positions. And of course I prefer the laughing, because of God doing what I consider to be great things in my life, or the lives of others. Of course. But I also am discouraged at the amount of continued chronic pain that others (and myself, at times) experience…. how long, O God? How long until they, too get to be filled with laughter…?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

