dimly burning

29 03 2010



dimly burning

Originally uploaded by cathyse97.

Monday, of Holy Week…
a text for today is Isaiah 42:1-9, one of the Suffering Servant passages, referring, most likely, to Jesus Christ. Verse 3 says, “a bruised reed he will not break, and a dimly burning wick he will not quench; he will faithfully bring forth justice.” Since I don’t have a bruised reed to photograph–or even a reed–I went for a dimly burning wick. Not as dimly burning as some feel, some days. Because, realistically, there are a lot of bruised reeds that feel broken, and dimly burning wicks that feel as though they’ve been quenched.

Where’s the justice? we ask.. how long, O Lord? I don’t know. I do know that I’m supposed to be part of helping bring about justice. I know that there are times when I have wondered when it was my turn to feel the love of God in more tangible ways than spiritual ways.

I thank God that I have felt God’s love tangibly. I thank God that I have as many blessings as I have. And I also pray for the grace and the strength to help bring about justice.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

