her back

1 04 2010



her back

Originally uploaded by cathyse97.

Wednesday of Holy Week. the day before Maundy Thursday… one of today’s scriptures is Isaiah 50.. Verses 5 & 6 talks about the speaker’s back… not turning his back on God, but giving his back to those who sought to harm him. “The Lord GOD has opened my ear, and I was not rebellious, I did not turn backward. I gave my back to those who struck me, and my cheeks to those who pulled out the beard; I did not hide my face from insult and spitting.”

Life can disappoint. People can disappoint. Circumstances often stink. These facts can give us opportunities to turn our backs on God, to turn away from God because of our disappointments, our pain, our loss and grief, our continued sickness and stuff that simply does not go away. It can be tempting to say, “enough, God! If you’re not going to step in, then…..” then what? Then I’ll walk away from faith, from God, from trusting anybody else ever again.

But the writer in Isaiah speaks of not turning his back on God. Even in the midst of what seems like life-threatening relationship problems, he stayed on track with God. Instead, he gave his back to those who likely stabbed him in the back. those who were out to get him, it seems… “let them”, he seems to say.. “they can’t do much, because God is the one I’m going to trust, depend on, stick with.”

My hope is that Kajsa will have a strong back: that when life disappoints, instead of turning her back on God, she’ll trust even more in God. I don’t want her to have people who harm her… but it’s probably going to happen. If and when it happens, I pray that she will care, do what God calls her to do in the situation and then, continue walking with her face to God, and her back to the harmful behavior.

My prayer is that her back will help her to draw strength from God, throughout her life.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

