Day 3: so it won’t be obvious

12 03 2011

Day 3: so it won't be obvious

“If you ‘go into training’ inwardly, act normal outwardly. Shampoo and comb your hair, brush your teeth, wash your face. God doesn’t require attention-getting devices.” (The Message).

I love this paraphrase of the familiar: “when you fast, put oil on your head and wash your face” (TNIV). Eugene Peterson’s paraphrase helps me think about why I do the things I do. There shouldn’t be any concern that I might stop washing my hair. At least not voluntarily. That’s not going to happen, barring some obvious message from God.

But are there other things I might –even subconsciously–want to call attention to? Do I even do some things “for God”, while hoping people take notice? And if I do, what steps can I take to shift focus from me to God? What about you?

Actions

Information

One response

12 03 2011
janet loseth

CATHY!! I just stumbled onto your blog and it is so good to ‘see’ and ‘hear’ what you and the family are up to. l am liking your Lent posts so far. And love the photos.
Send me a snail mail address and email address if you would, please. I’d like to keep in touch!
Blessings, and hi to Jim.

Leave a Reply

