Day 7: Beat it!

15 03 2011

Beat it!

In this past Sundays’ Gospel text (Matthew 4:1-11), Satan tempted Jesus three times: first, to turn stones into bread, playing on Jesus’ hunger. Second, to throw himself down and let angels catch him; and third.. to bow down and worship him, Satan.

Though my temptations don’t come in the form of Satan saying, “bow down and worship me”.. they are distractions from me saying, “I worship God alone”. Eugene Peterson’s The Message, paraphrases Jesus’ final response to Satan, (verse 10) like this: “Beat it, Satan!…Worship the Lord your God, and only him. Serve him with absolute single-heartedness.”

Absolute single-heartedness. What would this look like for me? While I don’t think I can ever be perfect, I also don’t think I try hard enough to be more in line with who God created me to be. I try. And I try hard. But I pray for the strength to make necessary changes where needed. I pray for the strength to keep trying, to reflect the love of God. And I pray for the strength to say “Beat it!” to the things that distract me from being who God created me to be.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

