Day 24: Persistence

2 04 2011

Persistence

“Mommy, can I eat some of the chocolate cake?”

No, not yet. Wait a few minutes.

“Now can I eat some?”

No.

“Now?”

No.

“Mommy, can I eat some chocolate now?”

Still no. I’ll give you some to eat in a few minutes.

“Now?”

No.

“Has it been a few minutes? Now? Can I have some now?”

A three year old’s persistence is incredible. And granted, this is a stretch, but the persistence of the Pharisees was pretty incredible also. They persisted in badgering the man-born-blind-who-now-could-see. They persisted with his parents. They seemed to be seeking one, and only one answer: “you’re right, oh-smart-Pharisees…. The man that opened my eyes is, in fact, a sinner…and you’re right, he shouldn’t be healing on the Sabbath.”

The man-who-could-now-see didn’t give the desired answer. He tried to be nice and patient, I think: “I have told you already and you did not listen….” But it didn’t really matter what he said—if the answer wasn’t what the Pharisees wanted, they would continue their dogged persistence.

The man’s answers amuse me. And the Pharisees, well, they sadden me. Because I just want them to get it for once. To actually recognize, and acknowledge, that something bigger than themselves is at work here. Someone bigger than themselves. And I want to see their persistence turned in the direction of how to open their hearts to this man who could make a difference for them as well—on a Sabbath or not.

Actions

Information

One response

2 04 2011
Rob

Cathy,
I know this isn’t the point of the blog entry, but I am happy to hear that Kajsa still likes chocolate cake.
Rob

Leave a Reply

